Instagram is adding a new Recently Deleted folder to the app’s menu that will temporarily save posts after you’ve removed them from your profile or archive. This is how you can recover deleted posts if you change your mind.
The folder contains sections for photos, IGTV, roles and stories. No one else can see your recently deleted posts, but as long as a photo or video is still in the folder it can be recovered. Normal photos, IGTV videos and roles stay in the folder for up to 30 days, after which they are gone forever. Stories are retained for up to 24 hours before they are permanently removed. However, you can still access it in your story archive.
Instagram says The feature has been added that allows users to recover their posts in case their accounts are ever hacked and their contents deleted. However, for whatever reason, you can restore your posts once the functionality becomes available to you.
The recently deleted folder and the ability to recover posts are provided in the latest app update, but may not be available to everyone just yet. Look under for the Recently Deleted folder Settings> Account> Recently Deleted. Make sure it’s there before temporarily deleting a post.
G / O Media can receive a commission
How to Recover (or Permanently Remove) Recently Deleted Instagram Posts
- Go to Settings> Account> Recently Deleted.
- Tap the Photo, IGTV Video, Roles, or Stories tab to see all recently deleted content of that type.
- Select a post.
- Tap the “…” Symbol.
- Choose “Restore” to undo the removal and send it back to your profile or archive, or “Clear” to permanently delete it (note: Instagram Support says Scrubbing for content from the database can take up to 90 days.)
It’s great that Instagram users can now revive prematurely cut content. However, make sure to follow the additional steps to completely erase unwanted content. Instagram and other social media companies have a bad habit of keeping “deleted” data longer than expected. Fortunately, there are ways to do this Check your social media databases to see what personal information these companies are storing. Even if you don’t mind that these platforms store your information, Leaks and data breaches remain a risk.